Bookings & Enquiries: +44 (0)1235 522 536
County Hall Abingdon Market Square
It was built between 1678 and 1682 by Christopher Kempster, a master mason who worked with Wren on the building of St Paul’s Cathedral.
Another imposing building is the old County Hall in the Market Place (Abingdon was once the County town of Berkshire from 1556 to 1869 but in 1974 it became part of Oxfordshire). It was built between 1678 and 1682 by Christopher Kempster, a master mason who had worked for Sir Christopher Wren on St. Paul's Cathedral. When it was built it was the County Assize Court and Market House but it now houses Abingdon Museum.
The balconied roof of the Hall is used for what must be a unique ceremony: the throwing of buns from there by the Mayor and invited guests. This strange custom began at the coronation of George III in 1760 when the Mayor and his councillors threw dozens of buns to the crowds below in the Market Square. It is a custom that still continues on special Royal or State occasions.
Distance: Approx - 300 mtres